Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2005-01-14 15:42:10

vitch
Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 10

encoded characters in plugins

Hi,

I’m writing a textpattern plugin but I have just noticed that the text that is passed to the function I am writing has been encoded.

I am calling my plugin like this:

<txp:krl_myPlugin>some text with ‘ quotes and stuff</txp:krl_myPlugin>

In the function that is called by the funtion the text has been encoded – the quotes have become &#8216; and &#8217; Other things have also happened like FILE being replaced by <I>FILE</I>.

Is there a way to stop this processing happening on text before it is passed on to my plugin?

Thanks,

Kelvin.

Offline

#2 2005-01-14 15:44:05

vitch
Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 10

Re: encoded characters in plugins

Ahhh – it’s happened here as well.

underline underline FILE underline underline was replaced with &lt; I &gt; FILE &lt; /I &gt; is what I was trying to say above!

Last edited by vitch (2005-01-14 15:44:51)

Offline

#3 2005-01-14 16:13:41

paularms
Member
From: University of Minnesota
Registered: 2004-10-21
Posts: 155
Website

Re: encoded characters in plugins

are you making quotes with a slash before it? ie: \”

Offline

#4 2005-01-14 16:43:47

andreas
Member
Registered: 2004-02-28
Posts: 453
Website

Re: encoded characters in plugins

Could it be that textile gets in your way? I don’t know how you can prevent that for your plugin but in the forum enclose any code you want to display in code tags if it’s more than one line or @enclose it like this@ for shorter pieces of code.

For anything else that you don’t want to be touched by textile, enclose it in double equal signs.

Last edited by andreas (2005-01-14 16:49:20)

Offline

#5 2005-01-15 07:19:18

vitch
Plugin Author
Registered: 2005-01-14
Posts: 10

Re: encoded characters in plugins

Thanks for the responses :)

The suggestion of enclosing the code in code tags helped loads and the quotes didn’t get encoded anymore. However, the string FILE (underscore underscore FILE underscore underscore without the spaces) is still getting converted into italics… Is there any way around this?

Thanks,

Kelvin.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB