Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2017-03-17 02:24:51

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 985
Website

line break

I think that there may be some kind of default break i.e. <br> or <p> between <txp:body>and <txp:excerpt /> on output.

I have this in my form <cite><txp:excerpt /></cite> and it adds a space between the hyphen and the name

eg i wish the output to be -- Donald and not


donald


…. texted postive

Offline

#2 2017-03-17 04:50:33

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 5,963
Website

Re: line break

Hi bici

I think that it depends on the preferences on a per article page. Check out Excerpt markup in the write tab. In your case I think you should select untouched.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#3 2017-03-17 07:14:14

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 985
Website

Re: line break

colak wrote #304826:

Hi bici

I think that it depends on the preferences on a per article page. Check out Excerpt markup in the write tab. In your case I think you should select untouched.

ah ha! thanks! I have never touched those preferences in the past… for one they are so obscurely placed.

I would suggest that those two preferences could well be placed above the two textual areas. one above Body write area and the other above the Excerpt write area

Last edited by bici (2017-03-17 07:18:44)


…. texted postive

Offline

#4 2017-03-17 10:06:02

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 7,489
Website

Re: line break

bici wrote #304827:

I would suggest that those two preferences could well be placed above the two textual areas. one above Body write area and the other above the Excerpt write area

That’s not a bad idea actually. Since we now support arbitrary markup schemes (currently via plugin, possibly in core at some stage), being able to see which is in use and change it becomes more useful.

If we moved those out of the Advanced area, that just leaves one control in there: Override Form. And one pluggable_ui() hook that covers both dropdowns. If we were to get rid of ‘Advanced options’ (I’ve never liked the concept of ‘advanced’ anyway, because one user’s advanced is another’s everyday), here’s the fallout:

  • Screen real-estate. At the moment, the labels and textarea fields are nicely arranged so there’s visual coupling between them. Injecting another form control nearby breaks those lines, especially when collapsing to small device sizes. Might be something clever we can do here: instead of a dropdown that’s always visible, have it like this: Markup: Textile on the right-hand side above the textarea. With the current scheme made into a simple anchor link. Clicking the link pops up a dialogue/dropdown widget to choose the scheme and, once selected, that becomes the text in the link.
  • Where could we move the Override Form? Perhaps Sort and Display? As far as I can tell, it’s not an often used feature, but is handy at times, and it does affect the display of the article. Other ideas?
  • We’d have to remove the old combined pluggable_ui() hook and introduce two independent ones: one per markup scheme. That’s actually better.

Not insurmountable, but I’ll leave it to the UI gurus to figure out. Maybe make this a feature request or raise it in the Issues queue and reference this topic?


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#5 2017-03-17 16:13:30

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 985
Website

Re: line break

Thanks. I added the issue to possible feature additions. i add the option to toggle that preference on/off.
In my opinion it would not affect Screen Real-Estate dramatically. Esp if if it was inline with the title area of BODY and EXCERPT. It also fit nicely under each text area and perhaps be less intrusive.

see eg


…. texted postive

Offline

#6 2017-03-17 16:14:47

philwareham
Core designer
From: Farnham, Surrey, UK
Registered: 2009-06-11
Posts: 2,598
Website

Re: line break

Like this?

Offline

#7 2017-03-17 20:05:36

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 985
Website

Re: line break

philwareham wrote #304857:

Like this?

I like it very much. but in thinking more on it, it may be better to have it just below the Text Area of Body and Excerpt as it is infrequently touched or changed. thus it is less intrusive.


…. texted postive

Offline

#8 2017-03-17 20:26:21

jakob
Moderator
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-20
Posts: 2,545
Website

Re: line break

philwareham wrote #304857:

Like this?

IMHO, I think that’s made it too important. What I particularly like about the v4.6 layout is it makes it simpler for non-techy users to work from top to bottom. I can see clients wondering whether they need to do anything with that before they start writing.

In an ancient admin area of mine, I put that right next to the body / excerpt label. bici’s first idea of right-aligning it on the same line as the textarea label is even better, I think. If it looks too wordy or looks busy, it could perhaps be simplified to a gear icon.


TXP Builders – finely-crafted code, design and txp

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB