Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#11 2014-03-08 19:04:40

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Ok. Here’s what I did to migrate the large dbs from TXD to KG. I am posting it here should anybody need it.

Backing up in TXD.

step1. Connect via ftp and create a directory in the root of your account and call it backups
step2. In the command line (if you use a mac launch the Terminal app) type:

ssh accountname@server.textdrive.us

step3. you will be asked for the password
step4. when the server opens type

mysqldump -u accountname -p[mypassword] db_name > /users/home/accountname/backups/dbb.sql

step5. Compress your database as it will help with the download. In the command line type:

gzip -c /users/home/accountname/backups/dbb.sql >  /users/home/accountname/backups/dbb.sql.gz

step6. Go back to your ftp and download the compressed database from the backups folder

Migrating to KG

step1. Connect via ftp and create a folder called backup in the root of your account
step2. Upload your databases in .gz compression in the backup folder
step3. Connect to KG by typing

ssh username@server.kaizengarden.us

Type in your password when prompted.

step4. Un Zip your database online by typing

gunzip -c /users/home/accountname/backup/dbb.sql.gz > /users/home/accountname/backup/dbb.sql

step5. Type

mysql -u username -p[mypassword] db_name < /users/home/username/backup/dbb.sql

If all went well you would have all your database records in place.

In the directions above change:

  • server > server name
  • accountname> to your account name
  • [mypassword]> to your account password without the square brackets.
  • db_name> to your database name
  • dbb> to the name you want the backup to be

Last edited by colak (2014-03-08 20:09:28)


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#12 2014-03-08 19:29:44

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,033
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

colak wrote #279582:


  • [mypassword]> to your account password
  • db_name> to your database name
  • dbb> to the name you want the backup to be

thanks. Just to clarify if my password was secret would I enclose it in the [ ] i.e [secret] ?


…. texted postive

Offline

#13 2014-03-08 19:35:50

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Hi bici, No the password should not be enclosed in the square brackets. if the password was secret the command would read

mysqldump -u accountname -psecret db_name > /users/home/accountname/backups/dbb.sql

the reason I enclosed it in the brackets was to emphasize the -p part which precedes it. I added this clarification to the original post.

Last edited by colak (2014-03-08 20:10:23)


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#14 2014-03-09 09:35:54

gaekwad
Member
From: North Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 1,980

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

colak wrote #279578:

What do you use to check the ips of sites? The whois I check my websites with do not return any ip addresses, just the name servers.

My computer here is OS X using Google Public DNS. Doing a dig on neme.org gives me this:

$ dig neme.org

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> neme.org
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 33992
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;neme.org.			IN	A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
neme.org.		1799	IN	SOA	dns1.kaizengarden.net. dns-admin.kaizengarden.net. 2014030810 3600 300 3600 3600

;; Query time: 4965 msec
;; SERVER: 10.1.1.1#53(10.1.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar  9 09:25:25 2014
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 93

I still don’t get a ping response:

$ ping neme.org
ping: cannot resolve neme.org: Unknown host

However, using the www.neme.org hostname gives me different results:

$ dig www.neme.org

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> www.neme.org
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 10506
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.neme.org.			IN	A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.neme.org.		21262	IN	A	23.105.43.31

;; Query time: 26 msec
;; SERVER: 10.1.1.1#53(10.1.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar  9 09:28:14 2014
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 46

And the ping:

$ ping www.neme.org
PING www.neme.org (23.105.43.31): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
^C
--- www.neme.org ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

At least it knows where the site is – I’m presuming ping is disabled as the site seems to load fine in a browser. Regarding forum.neme.org:

$ dig forum.neme.org

; <<>> DiG 9.8.3-P1 <<>> forum.neme.org
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 46799
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;forum.neme.org.			IN	A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
forum.neme.org.		21599	IN	A	23.105.43.31

;; Query time: 2519 msec
;; SERVER: 10.1.1.1#53(10.1.1.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar  9 09:30:09 2014
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 48

Which is fine. Again, ping falls silent but does at least resolve:

$ ping forum.neme.org
PING forum.neme.org (23.105.43.31): 56 data bytes
Request timeout for icmp_seq 0
Request timeout for icmp_seq 1
Request timeout for icmp_seq 2
Request timeout for icmp_seq 3
^C
--- forum.neme.org ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss

It looks like the non-www prefix of neme.org isn’t playing nice, at least on my computer. I just tried to view your site (www and non-www) over lynx from a Media Temple server and neither seem to work, though that might be down to tardy DNS updates.

Offline

#15 2014-03-09 09:51:20

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Hi Pete it seems that the whole of KG is down


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#16 2015-04-09 11:58:53

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

I am revisiting this post of mine as I am rewriting it for txptips and I am wondering if slogin will be safer than ssh on step 2. Can someone advise?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#17 2015-04-09 12:27:46

gaekwad
Member
From: North Cornwall, UK
Registered: 2005-11-19
Posts: 1,980

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Isn’t slogin a symlink an alias to ssh anyway? That’s my understanding, anyway.

Edit: what Ruud said below

Last edited by gaekwad (2015-04-09 12:40:01)

Offline

#18 2015-04-09 12:37:35

ruud
Developer emeritus
From: a galaxy far far away
Registered: 2006-06-04
Posts: 5,019
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

slogin is an alias for the ssh client => use ssh.

Offline

#19 2015-04-09 13:57:26

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Thanks guys. I’ll keep ssh


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#20 2015-04-09 15:39:30

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,075
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Migrating databases larger than 8,192KiB?

Another question:) When I am on step 4

mysqldump -u accountname -pmypassword db_name > /users/home/accountname/backups/dbb.sql

I get a response from the server that my connection is not secure. Is there any way I can make that connection secure in light of the fact that I am using a password in there?


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB