Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#21 2018-03-08 23:03:50

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

In the Write tab, under the Publish button, there’s a message “Create new article”. Is that a bit superfluous?

And whilst I’m at it, on the “Create new page” tab – the “Create new page” link still appears. It’d be a shame for a user to lose all their typing if they clicked that rather than the Save button. Same thing goes for the “Create new form” & “Create new style”.

Offline

#22 2018-03-08 23:30:09

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

There’re some inconsistencies, which were introduced in 4.6, that I may have banged on about before – so forgive me:

Link text
Create new, Create new page, Create new form, Create new style, Create new section, Create new theme, Add new author
- maybe just use “Create new” for all & assume that the tab indicates to the user what’s being created
- OR change “Create new” to “Create new article” to align with the others
- User or Author? The page title says “Users”, yet the button says “Add new author”

Buttons or links?
Links: Create new [article], Create new page, Create new form, Create new style
Buttons: Create new article, Create new theme, Create new section, Add new author
- why different?
- and in the case of Create new [article]: on the Articles tab it’s a button “Create new article”, on the Edit Article tab it’s a link “Create new”

Offline

#23 2018-03-08 23:35:08

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

gomedia wrote #309796:

There’re some inconsistencies, which were introduced in 4.6, that I may have banged on about before – so forgive me:

Buttons or links?
Links: Create new [article], Create new page, Create new form, Create new style
Buttons: Create new article, Create new theme, Create new section, Add new author
- why different?
- and in the case of Create new [article]: on the Articles tab it’s a button “Create new article”, on the Edit Article tab it’s a link “Create new”

Actually, those are all links (<a href=""/ >), but some are styled as buttons.

Good point about the discrepancies in link test.

Offline

#24 2018-03-08 23:50:38

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 8,458
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

gomedia wrote #309790:

In the Write tab, under the Publish button, there’s a message “Create new article”. Is that a bit superfluous?

Maybe. Maybe not. If I’m mass adding articles or checking something in an existing article prior to writing a new one, it’s nice to have a dedicated link to start afresh. It’s not necessarily intuitive to have to go to the menu, click Content and then Write again to start a fresh article. But then, one could argue the dedicated link is a bit redundant. Why not be able to delete the article too?

on the “Create new page” tab – the “Create new page” link still appears.

Hmm, yeah that should probably be hidden, like the Duplicate link, until the new content has been saved. Can’t see a reason to keep it around. Leave it with me, thanks.

maybe just use “Create new” for all & assume that the tab indicates to the user what’s being created

It would certainly save a few gTxt() strings! I’m fine with that if it makes things less cluttered. Does it impact usability slightly, since the panels do tend to look alike? Instead of intrinsically knowing what the link does by virtue of it mentioning the type of thing being created, you may have to skip your eyes across the page to the heading in order to check what type of thing is going to be made. Is that a bad thing? I dunno.

But yes we should probably be consistent about it. What do you think, Mr. Wareham?

User or Author? The page title says “Users”, yet the button says “Add new author”

This is one of those annoying legacy things. Not all user accounts are authors – some are designers, freelancers, etc – and the public tag is <txp:authors> not <txp:users>. Plus, our URL scheme is /author/real+name.

I’d be inclined to migrate to ‘users’ on the admin panel, but continue to refer to account holders as ‘authors’ on the content panels and public tags/URLs. Keeps the separation.

Buttons or links? … why different?

Because on table panels – list pages – the button bar above the table always contains buttons. They’d look flaky as a sea of links. On individual panels, however, (Pages, Forms, Write, …) having a bunch of buttons would take up too much space and also disrupts the IA flow. Links are less obtrusive.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#25 2018-03-09 00:00:04

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

phiw13 wrote #309799:

Actually, those are all links …

Sure, but the query still stands – if the majority of the actions are styled as links with icons, why are some styled as grey buttons?

Offline

#26 2018-03-09 00:19:39

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

Bloke wrote #309801:

… it’s nice to have a dedicated link to start afresh …

It’s not a link – I’m looking at the create new article page, under the Publish button are the words “Create new article”.

Offline

#27 2018-03-09 00:24:29

gomedia
Plugin Author
Registered: 2008-06-01
Posts: 1,220
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

Bloke wrote #309801:

Because on table panels – list pages – the button bar above the table always contains buttons.

Except “List options” is styled as an icon/link!

… having a bunch of buttons would take up too much space …

Yes, I’m warming to the icon/link styling, but either way I still think it should be one or the other.

Offline

#28 2018-03-09 00:41:42

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 8,458
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

gomedia wrote #309802:

why are some styled as grey buttons?

I’d actually like to trial the buttons with the icons too, like we do on the Languages panel. But there’s probably a reason Phil added icons to links and not buttons.

Except “List options” is styled as an icon/link!

That’s not part of the button bar, per se (even though it’s on the same line at desktop screen resolutions and some mobile resolutions depending on the number of buttons), but I get your drift.

That link (and the tag builders, for example) show popups, while other similarly-styled links create new things (i.e. do a page refresh). The buttons always do page refreshes / jump to edit steps.

Rule of thumb: ‘table’ panels have buttons, while ‘individual’ panels (edit steps, content, etc) use links+icons. Pages/Forms/Styles are kind of hybrid pages with lists and individual content on one, but they get links because buttons were too distracting and drew your eye away from the page flow too much.

change “Create new” to “Create new article”

It takes up too much space with the extra word. As I mentioned, I’m all for shortening the others if it doesn’t impact usability.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#29 2018-03-09 01:03:40

Bloke
Developer
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2006-01-29
Posts: 8,458
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

dotism wrote #309767:

I seem to be having a lot of difficulty figuring out the new theme mechanics.

Does this explanation help at all?

Is it possible to maintain a oui_flat-like workflow with the new system?

That depends how much of oui_flat you used. If you used it to bring in Sections and Prefs and plugins as well as Pages, Forms and Stylesheets, then no. Core’s themes currently only target the latter three structural elements.

But plugins can easily add the missing pieces and help you work in whatever way you prefer. In fact, they can go a fair bit further because we’ve added import ability for content such as articles, prefs, links, categories, sections, even users. It’s all available under the hood, just not part of “a theme” because the remainder of the database structure isn’t geared up for it (yet), and it would potentially destroy content.

The other main thing you’ll notice is that themes don’t automatically update when you change stuff on disk. Disk and database are separate entities, and the DB is the master thing to which your site operates. Thus there’s no automatic sync (primarily because it’s destructive). So if you’re working on disk, you’ll need to import the theme to the DB before it appears on your site.

A webhook mechanism is being considered so you can trigger it more easily, but we haven’t figured out the details.


The smd plugin menagerie — for when you need one more gribble of power from Textpattern. Bleeding-edge code available on GitHub.

Txp Builders – finely-crafted code, design and Txp

Offline

#30 2018-03-09 02:05:13

phiw13
Plugin Author
From: Japan
Registered: 2004-02-27
Posts: 1,546
Website

Re: Feedback to: Textpattern CMS 4.7.0 beta released

I updated one site (actually, its mirror running on localhost – 2weeks old SQL dump).

  1. log in to the site, verify that all is OK – diagnostics, languages up to date, ….
  2. log out
  3. put TXP 4.7 beta files in place
  4. login again – when asked to (force) reload, doing so (cached js).

Smooth! All installed languages have been updated correctly (note to Stef/@ Bloke: I had added ar-dz, just for testing… updated to ar).

Ok – “smooth”, a few plugins will have issues (glz_custom_fields), some have a more up-to-date for 4.7 version available on their Github repos (smd_), but that is OK, as in expected.

~~~
One note on the text for the dialog that asks to “shift reload” the page. The text could use some amends: “shift reload” is a bit too geeky and not all browsers use that keyboard combo (for Safari, Opera, Chrome on macOS it is option-command R, iOS users do not have any option to force reload).

The text would better phrased as “force reload the page or clear your browser caches”

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB