Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#21 2017-05-13 22:24:03

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,058
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

any chance you can try installing your site on a different hosting service just to see if you can get to work error free.

hopefully you have a working backup of yr site, along with an older MySQL DB

Last edited by bici (2017-05-13 22:31:29)


…. texted postive

Offline

#22 2017-05-13 22:32:22

skewray
Member
From: Sunny Southern California
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

My original site is up and running fine at skewray.com. The new site is broken at http://198.252.106.70/~skewrayc . I don’t plan to move the DNS entry to the new site until it works.

Doing this fixed the no-index problem. On the other hand, it now blinks with a no-css version for an instant every time a link is used.

Last edited by skewray (2017-05-13 23:01:12)

Offline

#23 2017-05-14 03:14:32

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,058
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

so your perfectly working site is at bluehost.com (69.89.25.152) .

the site that is not working is at comcast.net (162.151.83.42) … is this localhost on your desktop? Or is this where you wish to run your new site?

What is it about the CURRENT working site that is not right, and that you wish to change?


…. texted postive

Offline

#24 2017-05-14 03:17:52

skewray
Member
From: Sunny Southern California
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

I am not sure where you got the comcast IP from. The address for the broken install is in my previous post. HawkHost is also working on it, so I am not sure if they’ve changed anything.

Offline

#25 2017-05-14 04:40:24

bici
Member
From: vancouver
Registered: 2004-02-24
Posts: 1,058
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

skewray wrote #305684:

I am not sure where you got the comcast IP from. The address for the broken install is in my previous post. HawkHost is also working on it, so I am not sure if they’ve changed anything.

DNS lookup. but that is not the real question. Why is your current site working while your test is not… regardless of where it is hosted. what is different?


…. texted postive

Offline

#26 2017-05-14 05:26:38

skewray
Member
From: Sunny Southern California
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

So what I see in the browser is (Chromium):

1) set field to new value
2) go to another page
3) return to previous page; value appears unset
4) logout of admin
5) erase all browser history
6) log back in to admin
7) value is now set

So the issue is related to browser caching?

Disabling the hpw_admincss plugin makes no difference.

Offline

#27 2017-05-14 05:33:29

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,187
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

Hi,
I guess what bici meant was to check the differences between your live site’s server specifications and your test site’s server specs.

Could you post the diagnostics of the live site’s specs as I understand that the test site’s ones are posted here.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

#28 2017-05-14 12:33:54

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 3,914

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

skewray wrote #305686:

So the issue is related to browser caching?

skewray, you could try rah_nocache.


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#29 2017-05-14 14:41:05

skewray
Member
From: Sunny Southern California
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 109
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

rah_nocache fixes the problem. Thanks everyone!!!

No idea why the two sites behave differently, and I don’t think I will try to figure it out. Whatever rah_nocache does should be made the default Textpattern behaviour.

I also want to give a shout-out to HawkHost, who put a lot of effort into trying to figure out what was wrong. So far I am really happy with their support.

Last edited by skewray (2017-05-14 14:47:47)

Offline

#30 2017-05-14 18:17:15

colak
Admin
From: Cyprus
Registered: 2004-11-20
Posts: 6,187
Website

Re: Moved installation won't save preferences

uli wrote #305692:

skewray, you could try rah_nocache.

hmmmm… Good suggestion Uli, I forgot about Jukka’s plugin.


Yiannis
——————————
neme.org | hblack.net | LABS | NeMe @ github

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB