Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#11 2013-04-28 13:23:34

geoff777
Plugin Author
From: Benarrabá Andalucía Spain
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 281
Website

Re: geo_vote

Hi Ramin

Sorry you are having problems.
I haven’t looked at the plugin for quite some time.
If I remember the voting form has a time limit for security. If you don’t vote within x minutes it will give that message.

I’m not sure if the plugin works with the latest version of txp?

I love txp but the plugin system is a nightmare.
I rarely use it now for that reason.

Chasing around individual’s websites for the latest versions … copying and pasting … no way of knowing if updates have been released.

I will try to look at the plugin this week on a new txp install, time permitting.
Do you want it for members – ip or cookies? Members is the only real secure voting method. Cookies can be deleted and Ip’s changed.
I might do a members only version, that would simplify the plugin a lot.

I suggest you uninstall until I find the time to do this. Sorry.


There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don’t.

Offline

#12 2013-04-30 10:45:48

raminrahimi
Member
From: India
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 237

Re: geo_vote

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your cooperation and really appreciated !
I face with a problem of UTF-8 charectors as well, when i write RTL languages (UTF-8) , that will change to ???????
I changed all tables Collation to UTF-8_General_ci also, but still not solved that problem,
if you found some free time, please have a look.
thank you

Offline

#13 2013-07-13 07:37:54

Sheridon
Member
Registered: 2013-07-13
Posts: 1

Re: geo_vote

Hi Geoff,

thx for the plugin, just the thing I needed!

While testing it, I found a few small errors:
Sometimes, the html code <span class=”$xyz”> instead of <span class=“xyz”> is put out. Its just a small error in handling the strings… The occurences of that are found in the following lines (hope I catched them all):
633, 657 and 699.

If you want, I can send you the corrected code. I already did it and it works fine for me… Now all css classes are the right ones :)

edit:

Another two issues:

1.) The vote_title_class is sometimes a <div> and sometimes a <span>. That caused some problems with my css, so I changed that in my code to always being <span>. Lines: 633 and 657. Is there any reason for the usage of divs there or should that be changed?

2.) In some countries a ‘,’ is used as a decimal divider instead of ‘.’ . This causes something like <div style=“width:20,57”>, which does not work. Fixed this, by simply rounding to zero decimal places instead of two. Should be precise enough… Line: 684

Last edited by Sheridon (2013-07-14 11:20:48)

Offline

#14 2013-11-25 04:47:39

raminrahimi
Member
From: India
Registered: 2013-03-19
Posts: 237

Re: geo_vote

I face with a problem of UTF-8 charectors as well, when i write RTL languages (UTF-8) , that will change to ???????
I changed all tables Collation to UTF-8_General_ci also, but still not solved that problem,
if you found some free time, please have a look.

Offline

#15 2015-11-18 18:59:09

CeBe
Plugin Author
From: Caen - Fr
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 344
Website

Re: geo_vote

Geoff, are you still among us?

I’m about to use your plugin and I will probably add fixes and improvements. I was wondering if I can publicly release them or if you prefer to receive a copy and then publish it yourself.

Offline

#16 2015-11-19 01:06:24

geoff777
Plugin Author
From: Benarrabá Andalucía Spain
Registered: 2008-02-19
Posts: 281
Website

Re: geo_vote

I’m with you in spirit xxx to all txpers.

I haven’t been designing sites lately.

Please feel free to tear it to pieces.
I’m not sure it’s great coding.
I remember some strange logic and case statements.
Also a hack that sets a ten minute expiry on the poll form?
That was put in as a security issue but I remember not being completely comfortable with the code but it worked.

To be honest the cookie and ip methods are so easily circumvented, logged in voting is the only meaningful way.

Which makes it so much easier to implement.

Please release it as your own plugin.
Good luck …

This is a great CMS good to see it still moving forward.

Last edited by geoff777 (2015-11-19 01:15:43)


There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don’t.

Offline

#17 2015-11-19 10:29:44

CeBe
Plugin Author
From: Caen - Fr
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 344
Website

Re: geo_vote

Thank you, Geoff.
I’ll do my best to be up to it.

Offline

#18 2018-02-28 14:06:27

lythande
Member
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 197
Website

Re: geo_vote

Hi,

is there only this plugin for make a voting?
If yes: Could make the “Title” for the vote longer, instead 64 signs I wish to shown the question longer than 64 signs on my website.

My try to make it longer inside plugin:

$sql[] = "CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `".PFX.GEO_VOTE_META."` (
			`vote_id` int(4) NOT NULL auto_increment PRIMARY KEY,
			`vote_title` varchar(264) NULL default '', //varchar(64) NULL default '',

doesnt work. Any ideas?

Best regards
Lythande

Offline

#19 2018-03-01 11:06:54

uli
Moderator
From: Cologne
Registered: 2006-08-15
Posts: 4,169

Re: geo_vote

lythande wrote #309527:

My try to make it longer inside plugin […] doesnt work. Any ideas?

Hi lythande, have you tried that after installing the plugin? That wouldn’t work, the table creation process is finished, then. Either edit it in ied_plugin_composer, save as a plugin file, de-install (maybe you have to delete the geo_vote tables), then re-install your version or, probably better, edit that table’s meta data immediately in the DB.


In bad weather I never leave home without wet_plugout, smd_where_used and adi_form_links

Offline

#20 2018-03-02 00:18:55

lythande
Member
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 197
Website

Re: geo_vote

uli wrote #309541:

… or, probably better, edit that table’s meta data immediately in the DB.

that was a better idea and it works! I have in the line write “ Varchar 364”, but then changing the MySQL it into a “text” – this works good too! Much thanks!

But why is the Kollation from the geo_vote_.. in “latin1_swedish_ci” and not in “utf8_general_ci”? I have only installed German as Language and all other databases for the one website have “utf8_general_ci”.

Last edited by lythande (2018-03-02 00:19:40)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB