Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#21 2009-01-26 19:39:20

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 564

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Update

Slight bug-fix that FireFusion encountered. If the thumbnail didn’t exist previously, it wouldn’t display. So, after a little jquery / dom traversing, I’ve come up with the following that fixes that behavior:

if(! $('#thumbTD').length ) { $("#list td:eq(1)").attr('id','thumbTD'); }

For those of you who feel daring, just insert the above, below the line that has the following:

$('#image-thumbnail td:first').attr('id','thumbTD'); // name the TD that contains the image so we can swap it out.

For those of you not feeling so daring, just remove the previous version and redownload and reinstall the plugin code here

Offline

#22 2009-01-27 10:16:58

THE BLUE DRAGON
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-11-16
Posts: 558
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

TheEric wrote:

That is the intended behaviour. If you resize without the restrict option checked, it will resize the thumbnail to the longest side. If it didn’t do it this way, then the thumbnail would be distorted. (e.g., images would be stretched/squished)
Example: I have a crop area that is set for 100 × 100, and I create a crop area that is 150 × 250, the thumbnail will be resized to 60px × 100px. The 250px height will be resized down to 100px, and the 150 will be resized down to 60px, a ratio of 3:5

so it has no use when it comes to crop real specific size of rectangle
this plugin good only for croping squares, right?

usually in photoshop I specific the size of rectangle in px on top
and then creating the crop area, and that crop area will never can be stretched or squished from being a rectangle.
and here in jcrop it’s free and you can create what shape you just want, so it’s not good, not a real crop.
just like in the regular “Create thumbnail” option with the “Crop” option checked, but with free to control it.
I will send to your mail an example link for what I need to, sorry can’t share it here.

Offline

#23 2009-01-27 13:37:13

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 564

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

THE BLUE DRAGON wrote:

so it has no use when it comes to crop real specific size of rectangle
this plugin good only for croping squares, right?

View the screencast

You can crop any area you want, be it a square or rectangle. You can do the same thing with the thumbnail option.

Notice the Width X Height indicator? If you want the crop area to be 250 × 100, then adjust it until it is. Move it around, it’ll stay that size until you adjust it again.

Last edited by TheEric (2009-01-27 13:54:58)

Offline

#24 2009-01-30 01:30:26

dl33
Member
Registered: 2006-06-17
Posts: 192
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Is it possible to change the cropping functionality (especially for the thumbnail) to be more like photoshop. In that case the thumbnail dimensions would automatically dictate an aspect ratio. Resizing the crop area would only change the area but the size and aspect ratio of the final thumbnail will be as told by theh thumbnail dimensions.

Offline

#25 2009-01-30 01:41:46

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 564

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Sorry, but I really don’t understand your request. Do you want the aspect ratio to be variable, relative to the the dimensions entered in the Width / Height input boxes, or do you want predefined ratios? I personally find the free-form cropping to be more useful than preset ratios. For the next release, I was planning on adding a couple more features beyond what is here currently (filters, mirroring, etc)

Offline

#26 2009-01-30 01:51:29

dl33
Member
Registered: 2006-06-17
Posts: 192
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Have a look how photoshop handles the cropping tool when you specify a pixel size in the toolbar. The image will be resized to what you specify (or if you only provide one dimension, it will adjust the other one accordingly so that no distortion occurs). You can still change the adjust the crop rectangle, however, only within the aspect ratio of the dimensions that you specified. The final thumbnail would then have these dimensions, so if necessary the plugin also does the resizing.

I think that this behaviour will be a lot more helpful to a lot of people as thumbnails tend to be used to fit a particular element in a website design. Therefore, they have set dimensions: They want to resize the image but not distort it, so they adjust the ‘mask’ of the image. As I said before, have a look at Potatoshop, it will be a lot clearer what I mean.

Offline

#27 2009-01-30 02:01:16

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 564

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

So, again, do you want the aspect ratio to be variable, relative to the dimensions entered in the width / height boxes? That is the Photoshop behaviour. That wouldn’t be difficult to implement would be a check box that can be enabled / disabled.

Offline

#28 2009-01-30 02:02:47

dl33
Member
Registered: 2006-06-17
Posts: 192
Website

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Yes—a variable aspect ratio, relative to the dimensions entered in the width/height boxes. Sorry, if we wrote slightly past each other. (Not sure if that translates;-)

Offline

#29 2009-01-30 02:15:57

TheEric
Plugin Author
From: Wyoming
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 564

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Ok. That’s completely doable. I’ll work that into the next release. I’ll work on this again following the first week of February.

Offline

#30 2009-01-30 08:24:54

saccade
Plugin Author
From: Neubeuern, Germany
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 475

Re: [plugin] [ORPHAN] ebl_image_edit v1.0

Finally I found enough time to install and test it. Wow, niiice!
Thank you. Works excellent!

A few minor questions:
I need the labels in German. For the moment I edited them directly in the plugin.
Is there a better way? (Keeping labels together in a part of the plugin – or using an extra language file?)

And another one: If there is a huge image, which doesn’t fit into the browser window (let alone the question if this is reasonable, it is simply what a client provided) I didn’t succeed to make a thumbnail in the lower invisible part. Even if I scrolled down the window, so that the crop-frame is visible on the top of my visible part and I see the lower part of the image, it auto-scrolled back to showing the upper part of the image, when I fetched the crop-frame. I can’t get below the area from top of the image down to the visible browser-part. Trying in Firefox 3.0.x. Maybe it’s beyond plugin access and more a problem of the browser. Just wanted to ask, for it could drive clients crazy :-)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB