Textpattern CMS support forum

You are not logged in. Register | Login | Help

#1 2006-01-15 19:14:04

sekhu
Member
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 428
Website

How do I replicate an existing site?

Since I’m having problems with one of my sites, I was wondering if there was a way to replicate the site on a fresh install. There are about 800 images including thumbnails, and around 300 articles, so what would I need to do?

Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2006-01-15 19:51:02

alexandra
Member
From: Cologne, Germany
Registered: 2004-04-02
Posts: 1,370

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

MySql dump + Link Template 2 File
may help

Offline

#3 2006-01-15 20:27:05

Elenita
Member
From: Falls Church, VA
Registered: 2004-05-16
Posts: 407
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

There’s also Dean’s <a href=“http://textpattern.com/testing/txp_copyover.phps”>Copyover Script</a>.

Offline

#4 2006-01-15 21:05:56

sekhu
Member
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 428
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

how would i use the script? and how would I do the mysql dump?

I’ll take a look at the link template to file. finally how close to replicating a site would it be? What would be missing or need input?

So the steps would be:

1) download images to a folder
2) download the mysql dump
3) use the script to transfer forms and such
4) create a new install
5) transfer images to new images dir
6) upload mysql db?
7) tranfers forms and such

thanks

Last edited by sekhu (2006-01-15 21:22:49)

Offline

#5 2006-01-15 21:24:29

Elenita
Member
From: Falls Church, VA
Registered: 2004-05-16
Posts: 407
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

The Copyover script first appeared in <a href=“http://forum.textdrive.com/viewtopic.php?id=1145”>this TextDrive thread</a>:

<blockquote> Copy the script and save it as txp_copyover.php and park it wherever you like (it has no dependencies on scripts in /textpattern/).

I’d definitely make sandbox versions of the two databases you’ll be merging</blockquote>

—And a MySQL dump could be done with either phpMyAdmin (or whatever your host provides) or the <a href=“http://www.wilshireone.com/textpattern-plugins/rss_admin_db_manager”>rss_admin_db_manager plugin</a>.— Stuart beat me to it, and did a better job, too.

Last edited by Elenita (2006-01-15 21:29:27)

Offline

#6 2006-01-15 21:24:43

thebombsite
Plugin Author
From: Exmouth, England
Registered: 2004-08-24
Posts: 3,251
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

You will need to copy over your /image/ and /file/ directories separately. They are not contained in the database. Everything else including the style is.

If you login to phpMyAdmin and select the database you should see an “Export” tab. On the new screen select ALL the tables, check the “Save to file” option then hit the button and you should be asked where to save it. There are also options to save the file as a g-zip or uncompressed. Do one of each just in case.

Create your new database then login to phpMyAdmin and select it. Just above the drop-down box with the database names in it you should see some little icons. The middle one says “SQL” and if you hover on it it will say “Query Window”. Click on it to get a small pop-up widow where you will see an “Import files” tab. Select it and you should be able to browse to your exported file.

Then you need to upload all the TXP files to wherever you want them. DO NOT run install. You will need to edit your config.php file for any changed paths and database details.

Login using your original login details.


Stuart – The BombsiteProText ThemesTextgarden

In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.

Offline

#7 2006-01-15 21:47:58

sekhu
Member
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 428
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

Ok I thought that replicating my site would solve this problem, but it turns out the problem has also been replicated.

this is driving me up the wall, I don’t know what to do to fix it

Last edited by sekhu (2006-01-15 22:51:20)

Offline

#8 2006-01-16 01:30:18

thebombsite
Plugin Author
From: Exmouth, England
Registered: 2004-08-24
Posts: 3,251
Website

Re: How do I replicate an existing site?

Check the path to the images directory in “admin/preferences”.


Stuart – The BombsiteProText ThemesTextgarden

In a Time of Universal Deceit
Telling the Truth is Revolutionary.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB